Monday, January 21, 2013

Back to the Future Giveaway Hop

Back to the Future - A Giveaway Hop Across Time

January 22nd to 28th

For the Back to the Future Giveaway I am going to be giving away a digital copy of Dissidence by Jamie Canosa. Good Luck!

About Dissidence

In dystopian America, sixteen year old Kaleigh finds out quickly what having a big mouth and not enough brains to keep it shut can earn you. A one-way ticket to the work camps that no one even knows exists.
Nuclear war has ravished the nation, and a century later, the survivors are living in an entirely new world.  In a society where everything is decided for you, from where you work to who you marry, dissidence is not taken lightly.
But, even inside the camps, Kaleigh’s fiery spirit refuses to be extinguished. In a single moment of defiance, she manages to spark a riot that ignites into a full-blown rebellion.
With growing numbers counting on her, not just for their freedom, but for their very lives, two different boys vying for her heart, and trouble brewing from within the camp itself, can Kaleigh find a way to step up and become the leader everyone is counting on her to be, or will even the most carefully laid plans come crashing down around her?
My Dissidence Review

Disclaimer: Dissidence is published by Prose by Design, which I happen to co-own. It might seem self-serving to promote and give the book a good review, but I want you to know I gave it the review I’d have given it no matter who published it. I just happen to be lucky enough to have read the novel before anyone else and snap it up before another publisher. 

So, without further ado, here’s my review:

I’m a huge fan of dystopian novels. That being said, it can sometimes be difficult to find one that’s so good it sucks me in.

Dissidence is definitely one of those books. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed Jamie’s book. I couldn’t stop reading it. In fact, as one of the editors, I kept forgetting to edit because I was so entranced by the story. I’d have to go back and re-read what I’d already read to do my job.
Jamie has weaved a tale in the vein of Hunger Games or Divergent, but with a completely unique story and heroine. Kaleigh doesn’t ever intend to be a hero, but she can’t stand by and watch someone else abused by a system that the general population isn’t even aware exists. Her instinctive action begins a revolution. Aided by the hunky Connor, she sneaks back into a work camp—in spite of the fact that everyone else is trying to get out—to rescue her lifelong friend Peter.

You’ll fall completely in love with all three main characters. Kaleigh in particular holds a special place in my heart because of her beautiful sarcasm and humor. Jamie wrote her in such a way that half the time you don’t know whether to laugh, cry, or jump into the pages and help her kick some butt.

The story is fast paced and ends far too soon, only because I wanted to stay in Kaleigh, Peter, and Connor’s world a little longer. Dissidence is an absolutely brilliant book.

If you like Jamie’s writing, I also highly recommend Our Own Worst Enemies, her short story in Screams in the Night: Tales of Terror(where I also happen to have a story, but hers is far better than mine). That’s honestly my all-time favorite zombie story—and that’s saying a lot considering I’m a fan of them (The Walking Dead, anyone?)

I not only highly recommend this book, I strongly encourage you to immediately get a copy and read it!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Thanks for the invitation. I'm attending the draw and hope to have the luck to win.

  2. This book sounds great! I love the title :)

  3. Thank you for following me , not sure why but can't seem to follow yet, trying to figure it out.. still a noob LOLL @tisonlyme143