Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Dissidence SpotLight

In dystopian America, sixteen-year-old Kaleigh finds out quickly what having a big mouth and not enough brains to keep it shut can earn you. A one-way ticket to the work camps that no one even knows exists.

Nuclear war has ravished the nation, and a century later, the survivors are living in an entirely new world.  In a society where everything is decided for you, from where you work to who you marry, dissidence is not taken lightly.

But, even inside the camps, Kaleigh’s fiery spirit refuses to be extinguished. In a single moment of defiance, she manages to spark a riot that ignites into a full-blown rebellion.

With growing numbers counting on her, not just for their freedom, but for their very lives, two different boys vying for her heart, and trouble brewing from within the camp itself, can Kaleigh find a way to step up and become the leader everyone is counting on her to be, or will even the most carefully laid plans come crashing down around her?

My Dissidence Review

Disclaimer: Dissidence is published by Prose by Design, which I happen to co-own. It might seem self-serving to promote and give the book a good review, but I want you to know I gave it the review I’d have given it no matter who published it. I just happen to be lucky enough to have read the novel before anyone else and snap it up before another publisher. 

So, without further ado, here’s my review:

I’m a huge fan of dystopian novels. That being said, it can sometimes be difficult to find one that’s so good it sucks me in.

Dissidence is definitely one of those books. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed Jamie’s book. I couldn’t stop reading it. In fact, as one of the editors, I kept forgetting to edit because I was so entranced by the story. I’d have to go back and re-read what I’d already read to do my job.
Jamie has weaved a tale in the vein of Hunger Games or Divergent, but with a completely unique story and heroine. Kaleigh doesn’t ever intend to be a hero, but she can’t stand by and watch someone else abused by a system that the general population isn’t even aware exists. Her instinctive action begins a revolution. Aided by the hunky Connor, she sneaks back into a work camp—in spite of the fact that everyone else is trying to get out—to rescue her lifelong friend Peter.

You’ll fall completely in love with all three main characters. Kaleigh in particular holds a special place in my heart because of her beautiful sarcasm and humor. Jamie wrote her in such a way that half the time you don’t know whether to laugh, cry, or jump into the pages and help her kick some butt.

The story is fast paced and ends far too soon, only because I wanted to stay in Kaleigh, Peter, and Connor’s world a little longer. Dissidence is an absolutely brilliant book.

If you like Jamie’s writing, I also highly recommend Our Own Worst Enemies, her short story in Screams in the Night: Tales of Terror(where I also happen to have a story, but hers is far better than mine). That’s honestly my all-time favorite zombie story—and that’s saying a lot considering I’m a fan of them (The Walking Dead, anyone?)

I not only highly recommend this book, I strongly encourage you to immediately get a copy and read it!

 A few reviews:

"A thrill ride! Fans of Divergent will love this fast-paced dystopian that will leave you breathless and begging for more."
-Cyndi Tefft, author of Between and Hell Transporter

"An amazingly snarky protagonist, two hot boys, a mass rebellion, and an ending that will blow your mind are the perfect ingredients that make Dissidence the next big thing in YA.  Ms. Canosa brilliantly blends duty, honor, and love in this unforgettable story making it a "must read" for 2013."
-Beth, YA Sisterhood

“I thoroughly enjoyed Dissidence by Jamie Canosa. It was fast paced, well written, and kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved the main character’s quirkiness and the way the story flowed. The cliffhanger at the end left me eagerly waiting the next installment. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a great Dystopian Read.”
-Jessica Sorensen, author of the Darkness Falls series

“I see this amazing dystopian as the next big thing. Fans of Divergent and Hunger Games will fall in love with this book!”
-Michelle, Michelle’s Paranormal Vault of Books

 “Jamie Canosa is a debut author to watch. Dissidence is a fast paced, engaging read that will leave you gasping for more long after the final page.”
-Cambria Hebert, author of the Heaven and Hell series

"Dissidence is now one of my favorite dystopian books! I loved everything about it! It had great characters, an amazing plot and also it was original!"
-Kendall, Book Crazy

“The book had me hooked from page 2, literally, I started and finished the book in a two hour marathon reading session where I was mentally complaining that it takes THAT long for a page to turn on my Kindle, and I needed to know. Surprising with such a fast paced novel, the build-up to the climaxes were still clear, well defined and progressed at break neck speed. The book is expertly formatted and edited, the story line has some unique twists and turns, and the voice of the author is all her own.”
-Wanda, Authors Allies, The Books Debut, and Tattle Tale

“Jamie Canosa's newest work Dissidence grabbed me from page one and would not let me go! Her depictions, from the emotions to the settings, were rich so detail that I could almost feel, see, and taste everything that she described. I fully enjoyed the heroine Kaleigh from her sassiness to her strength. She just jumped from the book and felt like a live person to me. If you love flavorful characters and looking for a good read, this is the book for you!”
-Jenn, Indie Supporter

"Ms. Canosa brilliantly guides us through an epic journey of bravery, trust, humanity and friendship.  Reminding us how a voice can never be too small, nor a person too slight to make a huge difference in the world."
-Lisa, Lisa’s Reads

Jamie has done an outstanding job. The writing style is brilliant, which helps the story plot flow nicely. From the first page your interests are held.”
-Sam, Flipping Pages for All Ages

“Jamie did a wonderful job with this book and I seriously loved it. It touched me in so many ways. This was a must read! I highly recommend!”
-Shanora Williams, author of The Story of Jackson Haddock
“I couldn’t believe the action and thrills this book game me!”
-Cassie, Sassy Cassie’s Reviews
 About Jamie:

Jamie Canosa is a full time author of YA literature, which she absolutely loves. When she’s not writing or spending time with her family, she can usually be found with her nose in a book. She currently resides in Ravena, NY with her husband, and their three crazy kids . . . plus the dog, the bird, and the rabbit.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment